NASCAR weekly: Tony Stewart and Bobby Labonte added to the Hall Of Fame

NASCAR weekly: Tony Stewart and Bobby Labonte added to the Hall Of Fame
Jared C. Tilton | Getty Images

NASCAR has added five new members to the Hall Of Fame – The stage lengths have been adjusted for the 2020 season

NASCAR Cup Series

Five drivers were inducted into the Hall Of Fame in 2020: Waddell Wilson, Buddy Baker, Joe Gibbs, Bobby Labonte and Tony Stewart. Labonte was a full-time driver in the NASCAR Whelen Euro Series in 2018. Tony Stewart is the co-owner of Stewart-Haas Racing and owner of the Eldora Speedway, the only dirt track used in the Truck Series.

NASCAR has made stage length adjustments for the 2020 season. In particular, the third stage in the races will be significantly shorter than last year. For example, the Daytona 500 2020 has three stages with the following lengths: 65/65/70 laps. Last year, the last segment was 90 laps long.

NASCAR Xfinity Series

Brett Moffitt will unwind a part-time program in the NASCAR Xfinity Series in 2020. He will drive four races for Our Motorsports: Daytona, Las Vegas, Fontana and Phoenix. In 2018, Moffitt celebrated the Truck Series championship. His best Xfinity Series result was a ninth place at the Iowa race in 2012.

A.J. Allmendinger will have a more intensive part-time program in the second NASCAR league. The former Cup driver is planning eight starts for Kaulig Racing in Indianapolis (road course), Charlotte (Roval), Mid-Ohio, Watkins Glen and Road America. So ovals are not on the agenda for the experienced driver.

NASCAR Gander & RV Outdoors Truck Series

Ryan Truex will drive at least six races in the upcoming NASCAR Gander & RV Outdoors Truck Series season. He was hired by Niece Motorsport and will make his first appearance at the Texas Motor Speedway. Ryan Truex is the younger brother of Martin Truex Jr., who will be hunting the title for Joe Gibbs in the NASCAR Cup Series.

NASCAR Peak Mexico Series

The Mexican NASCAR series has announced its calendar for the 2020 season.

Date Track
March 29 Autodromo del Ecocentro de la Unión Ganadera
April 26 Autodromo Monterrey
May 17 Super Ovalo Chiapas
June 7 Super Ovalo Potosino
June 28 Triovalo Internacional de Cajititlan
July 19 Autodromo Miguel E. Abed
August 2 Autodromo Internacional de Aguascalientes
August 23 Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez
September 20 Autodromo del Ecocentro de la Union Ganadera
October 11 Super Ovalo Potosino
November 8 Autodromo Internacional de Aguascalientes
November 29 Autodromo Miguel E. Abed

André Wiegold