Andre Castro crowned first ever ENES champion in history

Andre Castro crowned first ever ENES champion in history
NWES / Guillaume Hesnault

The last race of the EuroNASCAR Esports Series took place at the virtual Circuit Zolder – Andre Castro clinched the title

The first ever EuroNASCAR Esports Series (ENES) champion has been found: His name is Andre Casto. The US-American and DF1 Racing driver finished second at the ENES final at the virtual Circuit Zolder.

In addition to the title of ENES champion, Castro also secured the 40 bonus points for the real team classification of the 2020 EuroNASCAR season for the #22 car of DF1 Racing. In the run-up to the final, the 21-year-old had spent a lot of time thinking about where he would have to finish to win the title, but quickly found out that a podium was enough for him. The American approached the race accordingly.

“I tried to score the pole-position to get away from the midfield and eventual troubles. It didn’t work so I started third, but got a decent start and from then on it just worked out fine,” explains Casto. “It’s great to be the first ENES champion in history and it’s pretty cool to win the championship in my pajamas. There are so many people to thank: my team, my partners and of course the organization for building this great show.”

The victory in Zolder was secured by Tobias Dauenhauer, who finished second behind Castro in the championship. “It was a great race for me and I wanted that ENES race win so bad,” explained the German. “I’m very happy as I did the best I could for Hendriks Motorsport today. This series was perfect for the drivers and also the sponsors. I want to thank everyone involved in building this championship in such challenging times. I’m a beginner on iRacing and I’m really happy with ending up second after such an exciting first ENES season.”

Dauenhauer’s Hendriks team mate Loris Hezemans, who caught a used day in Zolder, went into the final as second. In qualifying the Dutchman was cut a lap short and in the race the reigning NWES champion was involved in a collision early on, so the Dutchman only finished 35th. In the end he was level on points with Ulysse Delsaux in fifth. The podium in Zolder was completed by Simon Pilate who beat Alon Day, who finished third in the championship.

The best team member in the overall standings was Bryan Crauwels from Braxx Racing, who finished the season in fourth place, taking 33 bonus points for starting #78 car into the real NWES season. At the end of the ENES season, the top 10 of the team ranking before the first race in Vallelunga on September 12th and 13th looks as follows:

DF1 Racing/22 40
Hendriks Motorsport/5035
PK Carsport/2434
Braxx Racing/7833
RDV Competition/1032
Feed Vict Racing/831
NotOnly Motorsport/8930
DF1 Racing/2329
Hendriks Motorsport/1828
42 Racing/4227

Simon Mones